top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTasha Sabapathy

Breathtaking Bran Muffins/Cupcake?

Date: 2/5/2020

 

 

BRAN MUFFINS! This story starts with buying the wrong cereal- bran cereal instead or bran flakes (yes there is a difference). I've never tried bran cereal so I thought it would taste similar but nope, it tastes a bit like wet cardboard. So when I saw this recipe I was very excited to give it a try! Thanks to Rachel, the Stay at home Chef for the recipe: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1jayjrrRmY&list=WL&index=30&t=0s



Here are the ingredients!


- 1½ cups 100% all bran cereal

- 1 cup buttermilk

- 1/3 cup coconut oil melted

- 1 large egg

- 2/3 cup brown sugar

- 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

- 1 cup all-purpose flour

- 1 teaspoon baking soda

- 1 teaspoon baking powder

- 1/2 teaspoon salt



So I couldn't get buttermilk for this recipe and saw a couple videos online saying you can make your own? I just added two teaspoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice into skimmed milk and let it sit for about 5-10 minutes (sounds weird but it didn't affect the taste at all so don't worry). It didn't really thicken up that much but I used it anyway. I think it was because I used skimmed milk. Surprisingly, they turned out fine! Even better actually, I think the batter wasn't as watery, the texture might have been too dry for my liking. The flavour of the muffins were sooooooo good! It was a little nutty and not too sweet? I might add some cinnamon the next time!




Let me know how yours went!








7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page