top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTasha Sabapathy

Lovely Lemon Meringue Pie

Date: 22/8/2021

______________________________________________________________________________




__________________________________________________________________________________


Back with another one of Sally's Baking Addiction recipes! They're easy to follow and she has quick video tutorials too! Made this for my family, my father really likes lemon meringue pie. Instead of using one big pie pan, I used these smaller chicken pie shaped ones and managed to make 8 of them with the recipe. (Click here for Sally's Classic Lemon Meringue Pie recipe!)



Ingredients List:


Filling

- Pie Crust (I bought store made short crust)

- 5 large egg yolks (use the whites in the meringue below)

- 1 and 1/3 cups (320ml) water

- 1 cup (200g) granulated sugar

- 1/3 cup (38g) cornstarch

- 1/4 teaspoon salt

- 1/2 cup (120ml) fresh lemon juice

- 1 Tablespoon lemon zest

- 2 Tablespoons (28g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature


Meringue

- 5 large egg whites

- 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar (Substituted this with one teaspoon of lemon juice)

- 1/2 cup (100g) granulated sugar

- 1/8 teaspoon salt





It turned out better than I expected! I was quite worried about the filling because it smelled quite eggy when I was cooking it, but tasted nice and lemony after! The meringue was a little burnt so I recommend covering it with foil like Sally says (if possible!).







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page